Professor Richard Owsley
founded the North Texas
Heidegger Symposium in
1980, and hosted it for over
twenty years.

He also helped to develop the
Department of Philosophy and
Religious Studies at the
University of North Texas.

Although he retired in 1995,
he continued to teach and
participate in philosophical
discourse until shortly before
his death.

In December of 1999, Professor
Owsley was elected president
of the Karl Jaspers Society.
In April of 2000, he
delivered his last opening
address at the 20th Heidegger
Symposium, on "The Meaning
of Truth in Husserl and

Richard Owsley died on February 16, 2003, at the age of 79.

photo courtesy Robyn Lee

The conference is organized by the Dallas Area Seminar on European Inquiry (DASEIN). Contact Rod Coltman for further information.


The Heidegger Symposium would like to thank the Texas A&M University Philosophy Depart-ment, without whose generous contributions our gathering would not have been possible.

Program Archive

2018 2017 2016 2015
2014 2013 2012 2011
2009 2008 2007


38th North Texas Heidegger Symposium
Univerity of Dallas
Irving, Texas
Friday and Saturday, May 1 and 2, 2020

Information on speakers, the schedule, and rooms will be announced as soon as they have been arranged.

Conference Fee: The conference fee, from which we derive most of the income for the Symposium, will be $50.00 ($20.00 for students).

Checks made out to "Heidegger Symposium" or "NTHS" may be sent to Rod Coltman, 311 N Waddill ST, McKinney, TX 75069

or, choose the appropriate category from the menu below and click on the "add to cart" button below to pay online.

Fee Category

Fees will be accepted at registration, but receiving them in advance will help facilitate the completion of conference arrangements.


A number of suitable hotels can be found in the Irving area; we will post a selection as soon as possible.